All Newborn Babies Look Alike (so I don’t need a picture of yours)

My friend recently gave birth and while I’m happy for her, I’m a little annoyed with all of the pictures she’s been sending of her newborn baby. I understand her excitement, this being her 1st child & all but still…..I don’t need another text message of her baby. I know this may sound mean (especially if you’re a mom), but it’s how I feel.

I just don’t understand why people think that everyone outside of their immediate family wants to see 10 million pictures of their baby. Especially as a newborn! Newborn babies don’t really look like much, at least not to me. (Can you tell I don’t have any kids?) To me all, and I do mean ALL newborn babies look pretty much the same. The only difference is the eye color and some have hair and some don’t. I never understood why people say “He looked just like his father when he was born.” Really? C’mon people, none of us looked like anyone when we were 1 hour old. Even my own mother says I looked like her when I was born but I compared my newborn picture to another Black baby picture and I gotta tell you, I couldn’t even tell the difference. I looked like every other newborn baby out there (I did have plenty of hair, though).

It is my friend’s first baby so I understand why she wants to share her pictures with the world. I just think that pictures of babies should be confined to family members and people who have actually asked for them.

At some point in the near future I will have to go visit her & the new baby but I am not looking forward to it. Similar to baby showers, I just don’t know how many times I can “oh & ah” over someone’s baby. (That’ll be another post, I’m sure)

Because I’m her friend, I did send her congratulatory messages but I think I may have to turn off my phone for a while so I don’t get any more of her baby pics.

Image

(You can not tell me that all these babies don’t look very similar)

8 thoughts on “All Newborn Babies Look Alike (so I don’t need a picture of yours)

  1. Too bad they don’t all look the same! To you they may, but when you have your own you will see, and yes my daughter does look like me, and I don’t just say it, she literally has my features. I just hope when you have a kid you don’t “annoy” anyone with your precious newborns photos.

  2. I would like to add that most newborns do not even have their eyes open for their first photos, thus adding to the homogeneity of their appearances.

  3. Lol, very funny. I go through the same. EVERYONE, I mean every single parent, are so amazed when their kid takes first step, speaks first world, wipes ass for the first time. Big deal!

    I do tolerate some pics if I am close to a person but otherwise it is just irritating. May I steal your text and link back to this site? lol… Thanks!

    1. Yes, please do! 🙂

      I’m just glad someone agrees with me. Of course everyone says that it’ll change when you have your own babies, but I don’t think so. I’m not dumb enough to forget that no one will really want to see my baby’s photos either.

  4. I just stumbled upon this blog and I gotta say that I feel the exact same way. No, I’m not a mom and I’m sure I’ll think my kid is the cutest thing ever – but newborns all look exactly the same. *shrug* People shouldn’t get so upset if you don’t see how their kid is SO SPECIAL and different from every other single newborn out there.

Want to Reply? I'm listening....